South Ayrshire skyline
Branch Update

Branch Committee Update – Jan 2020

To keep our members as up to date with branch actions and ongoing work, we are publishing an update after each branch meeting. This is available here, as a pdf below, or as a printed copy from the UNISON office or your local steward. 

South Ayrshire UNISON Members Branch Committee Update Dec 2019

UNISON South Ayrshire – Members Branch Committee Update – December 2019

Bargaining Work Ongoing:

Policies that UNISON are currently negotiating with SAC:

  • Menopause Policy
  • Carers Policy
  • Disciplinary Policy

The SAC Staff Engagement Survey which was undertaken this month has highlighted some inconsistencies within departments and managers, which the council are currently looking into. 

Budget: no update since the last branch communication to members.

Departmental Reviews and Restructures:

UNISON is currently involved in the following reviews/restructures:

  • Economic Development and Regeneration Review – still ongoing.
  • Tourism, Events and Culture Review – there have been some changes to grades for staff within this service, however, there have been no real changes to duties. The Branch Secretary is writing to the Head of Service to clarify what duties have been removed which has resulted in the downgrading, and how the council expect this work to be undertaken.

The branch has concerns that some departments are not following the Service Review Framework and the Branch Secretary will be writing to the leader of the council to seek clarity on an number of ongoing concerns.

Branch Update:

AGM – your branch AGM is taking place on the 26th of February at the Town Hall in Ayr at 5.30pm.  Guest Speaker will be Mike Kirby, UNISON Scottish Secretary. Members are asked to come along and take part in this meeting, as in order to progress branch business we need to be quorate, so if you are able please come along and support your local branch.  Refreshments will be provided.

Branch Update: Workplace Visits – The Branch are hoping to do some workplace visits in the coming few months. On the cards so far is a visit to County Buildings. If you would like a visit from UNISON to your workplace please contact the branch and let us know.

Workplace Issues – Do you have something going on in your workplace that you think UNISON should know about? Please contact the branch; we can’t help if we don’t know what is going on locally.

UNISON Stewards – Your Union Needs You!!

UNISON is always looking for members to become active and help us to support our members within South Ayrshire Council. If you are interested in equality, fairness and have a desire to help others then why not become a workplace rep with UNISON. Full training and support is always given. Please call Liz at the branch for further info.

Branch Contact Details

UNISON South Ayrshire, Town Buildings, 5-9 High Street, AYR, KA7 1LY

Tel: 01292 261315
unisonsouthayr@btconnect.com  www.southayrshireunison.org.uk

UNISON South Ayrshire Workplace Stewards

NAME

TELEPHONE

EMAIL

DEPARTMENT

Cathy Ballantyne

01292 612037

cathy.ballantyne@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Education Early Years

Stuart Black

01292 612380

Stuart.black@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Chief Executives Office

Malcolm Carroll

07552202962

malcolm.carroll@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

People Golf and Community

Irene Collier

07584504628

irene.collier@south-ayrhire.gov.uk

Chief Executives Office

Grant Douglas

01292 616357

Grant.douglas@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Environmental Health

Gill Evans

01292 293863

gill.evans@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Social Work Children & Families

Neil Feggans

01292 616128

neil.feggans@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Places Planning

Renee Gillan

01292 272232

07714299670

branchsecy@btconnect.com

renee.gillan@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

People Libraries

Marc Hamilton

01292  616239

marc.hamilton@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Places Sustainable Development

Mark Lewis

01292 612338

Mark.lewis@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

People Education

Gillian McCormick

07876190634

Gill_79@hotmail.co.uk

Facilities

Irene McCurdie

01292 281993

Irene.mccurdie@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

H&SCP

William McDowall

07766074152

 

Cleansing

Alex Nelson

07971622727

Alex.nelson@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Places

Anne O’Hare

07557432093

anne.ohare@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Chief Executives Office

Campbell Peden

07714299673

branchcomms@btconnect.com

People Education

Callum Robertson

07732649355

callum.robertson@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

Neighbourhood Services

 

UNISON South Ayrshire Branch Officers

Position

Name

Email

Telephone

Chairperson

Billy Cooper

Billy.cooper@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

07813667646

Vice Chairperson

Anne O’Hare

anne.ohare@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

07557432093

Secretary

Renee Gillan

branchsecy@btconnect.com

renee.gillan@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

01292 272232

07714299670

Assistant Secretary

Campbell Peden

branchcomms@btconnect.com

07714299673

Treasurer

Irene Collier

irene.collier@south-ayrhire.gov.uk

07584504628

Welfare Officer

Stuart Black

stuart.black@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

01292 612380

Publicity Officer

Callum Robertson

callum.robertson@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

07732649355

Youth Officer

Malcolm Carroll

malcolm.carroll@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

07584504628

Retired Members Officer

John Kerr

unisoneducation@btconnect.com

 

UNISONdirect: 0845 355 0845
Or freephone textphone:
0800 0967 968

Lines are open 6am – midnight Monday-Friday and 9am – 4pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *